Posted by: dave1949 | 2010/03/25

Samaritans

Yesterday after another day of waiting to heal I went out in the evening for a small walk over to the grocery store and back.  I’ve done the walk several times during the treatment and now during my recovery but one of the things I’m finding out about this is that it isn’t always an even progress.

I am getting better and the troubles are relenting slowly but yesterday about half way home I felt that I had to throw up again. I’m not very proud about being out on the streets in public and throwing up but sometimes these things are beyond our control.
I stepped off the sidewalk and using a telephone pole for support bent over and tried to not make much of a fuss while trying also to not make a mess of myself. From what has been happening since I started recovering I was quite sure that a few minutes of heaving and gasping and it would be over with and I could finish the walk home.

While I was thus occupied I heard a women’s voice ask me if I was okay. I told her I would be in a moment or two. She came up right beside me and asked if I needed any help. We were right beside the fire department and she had her phone out offering to call them for assistance. Between trying to finish, catch my breath and talk to her I explained the situation and assured her I would be okay without any further outside help. I then noticed  a car parked right beside me which I assumed was hers but with a second look I realized there was a young couple in the car and the woman there had stopped as well to offer help.

Now I felt like a pretty fine fool causing all this commotion over being unable to make it for a kilometer long walk without starting to chuck.  As I got control again the young couple offered me a ride home.  They were headed in the same direction and wanted to be sure I got home safely. The woman had also offered me a ride and then I did what any reasonable person would do. I got over my embarrassment and let people help me.

I thanked the first women who I realized had actually been traveling in the other direction, had pulled into the fire department parking lot and walked back about 30 yds. to help me. I got into the car of the young couple and they drove me the rest of the way home and then stayed to make sure I got inside safely.

Once home I lay down for a few minutes which was all it took to recover and then started thinking about the fact that there are so many nice people in the world willing and able to help out strangers. I also thought that it is a great pity that I failed to get the names of any of the three people who stopped to help me but whoever you are I once again thank you for caring.

Responses

  1. I love stories like this – people like that restore my faith in humanity somewhat.

  2. Angels are all around us- sometimes in the form of strangers- just when you need them!

  3. Good for you, too, for letting them help. That’s not always easy.

    On a separate note, I imagine it must hurt your throat when you throw up.

  4. It’s good to know there are still people like that around. They don’t get the headlines nor do they want to but they are the kind of folks that we need so badly.

    Glad to see you hanging in there!

  5. It’s nice to live in a small town sometimes, isn’t it. And I’m very pleased that you allowed them to help you. Like Zoom says, that’s sometimes very, very tough – especially for people accustomed to being the ones who usually do the helping. Sucks that you had a relapse though. I hope it’s the last one.

  6. It takes a big man to let others help them, good for you Dave. Just knowing that there are people still in our world who care is a wonderful feeling.

    Maybe place a wee ad in the local rag thanking them…just a thought.

    Stay strong, you don’t know how far you’ve come just by being able to get out to enjoy the sun and breeze….everyday is another day to health.

    thanks for sharing….


Leave a Reply

Categories

