Posted by: dave1949 | 2010/03/16

Well it certainly seems that I owe my massive public an apology. As anyone reading this regularly knows my treatments ended on Mar.4th. I was warned by the doctors that the recovery wouldn’t be noticeable for at least a week and that the progress then would be slow for the first month.

I on the other hand am not really used to feeling ill and was quite prepared for this to all start turning around within a few minutes of walking out of the last radiation treatment. Guess which one of us was right?

The first week went by with me still throwing up, still tired all the time, still with a mouth full of sores and swallowing painful to the extent that getting the pain medication down was a major chore. On top of all the other problems the amount of vomiting has also robbed me of my voice so that I can only whisper right now and so I did what any reasonable person would do. I got shut up into my own little pity party and kept waiting for this to start to turn around.

That is finally starting to happen, very much like the docs said it would.  The sores in my mouth are not completely gone but they are diminishing and the pain swallowing is also dropping each day. Today I woke from a relatively calm night feeling for the first time in weeks that I wasn’t actually sick anymore, just tired and sore which is a lot different. Now all I have to do is maintain this direction and wait for my body to catch up to what my mind wants it to do.

I have been able to get out for a short walk each of the last 3 days and just getting a bit of fresh air and exercise makes a great difference to how I feel.

I’ll try to post a little more regularly from now on but can’t yet guarantee anything.

Responses

  1. Thanks so much for the update Dave. I’ve been thinking about you and wondering if you’d turned the corner yet. It sounds brutal. But I’m very happy to hear that you’re finally starting to feel a little better – and just in time for the gorgeous weather too.

  2. Thanks for the update. I’m glad you’re feeling tired and sore (well, as opposed to sick and in pain). You rock my friend, you really do!

  3. Right. The sun is shining. The sky is brightest blue. The temp is in the warming double digits. So get yourself outside and listen for the birdies chirping hallelujah!
    Good to hear another marker has been passed.

  4. Good to see you out and about again, Dave! I’m glad improvement is beginning!

  5. You are always in my prayers and on my mind. Spring, Summer, warm sunshine and fresh breezes are right around the corner.

    Glad you are improving and that every day is bring you strength…

  6. We’ll all be happy when you’re posting regular scathing Tory criticisms and photos of birds again because that will mean you’re feeling fighting fit again. Meanwhile your massive public will keep the good mojo flowing your way and hope it reaches you soon.

  7. Thank you all for the kind thoughts. Things are in fact still getting better bit by bit but not nearly fast enough to please me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

