Posted by: dave1949 | 2010/02/21

26 Down 9 to go

26 Down 9 to go.

Not a huge amount to report this week. The treatments go on as before and the damage to my mouth and throat continues to get a bit worse. This next week coming up is another chemo treatment and that seems to knock me down a bit more than just the radiation energy wise. Luckily I’m retired cause for the last couple of weeks I’ve been sleeping 10 to 12 hrs a day and sitting on my ass most of the rest of the time. I have been able to get outside most days for a short walk but usually only 15 minutes or so and that at a slow pace too.

Then on Friday I had an interesting little episode. They warned me earlier that I should get friends or even Cancer society volunteers to drive me to and from my appointments and Friday I found out why.

I got up out of my chair and headed into the kitchen then started to feel faint. I’ve had the privilege of passing out or being knocked out a few times in my life so I started by bending over to get my head down. When that didn’t seem to help much I decided to kneel on the floor and that was a good choice. I flaked out completely at that point and smacked my head on the floor a tiny bit. A little cut where my glasses caught me and a small bump on my eyebrow were the only reminders and as I write this on Sunday there has been no repeat performances.

Anyway after lying on the floor a few minutes I got up and continued on my way, slooowly. This would not have been any fun at all if I had been driving.I suspect it was probably just getting up too fast after sitting for too  long but I have to say I’m not used to doing this sort of thing unless I’ve been drinking or someone has kicked me in the head.

Oh well the finish line is in sight now as we head into the last quarter in this treatment plan. I can hardly wait for it to be over with.

I think I'll rest here for a bit

Responses

  1. Now you know why we have all been making efforts to drive you. …..

  2. I love the picture. And I keep thinking about everything you’re going through, and sending my best positive vibes your way. You sound pretty positive to me, even if it’s taking a bite out of you physically. You’re getting close to the finish line – March 4th (the only day of the year that gives a command).

  3. Ouch! I’d have to think that your other causes for that behavior were probably more fun. Sure is a good thing that you weren’t driving!

    Now for the strong finish!

  4. Actually, Dave, thanks for the opening. Perhaps I can ask a question of your ‘virtual’ community. Our drivers have been working hard over the past few weeks to get Dave to his appointments. If any of you live close enough and would like to help out with (as Montucky calls it) Dave’s ‘strong finish’, we would all gladly welcome you into our driver’s pack. He goes to Hamilton late in the afternoon 5 days a week. You can reach me at deborah.marshall@gmail.com

  5. If I still lived in Ancaster Dave, I’d be there to help out, but I can only send you best wishes through the interwebs.

    Hang tight, you really are doing well considering all you are going through.

  6. Damn, I’d drive you if I could… Unfortunately, Montreal-Hamilton is a bit of a stretch.

    All I can do is root for you from my corner.

  7. Why was I under the impression that you lived in or around Ottawa?
    Like Jazz, I would like to help out but Ottawa – Hamilton is just slightly less of a stretch…

  8. I also don’t live anywhere near you and you wouldn’t want to drive with me if I did, however, I know someone in Welland who drives to Hamilton frequently for work and I’ll ask him. I’ll let you know.

  9. Did you get a kitty?

  10. if you run out of drivers, I’m close by. just email. I promise to not kick you in the head.

  11. To all the distant friends thanks for the good thoughts and for caring at all. And so far no repeat performances so maybe it is just a one time event to add a little fun to the whole process.

    XUP, don’t be silly what would I do with a cat, although I hear they’re quite nice stewed or curried.

    Deb, thanks for standing by me and helping through all this.

    Violetsky, sure that’s what everyone says till they actually meet me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

